Best Home Gym Set in India (Barbell + Plates): 30 & 50 kg Kits Compared
Four barbell and plate home gym sets compared by weight tier, on the spec most listings bury: the bar diameter and the plate's centre hole, which decide whether you can ever add plates. Plus locks, stated load limits and warranty, with every listing contradiction shown.

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you — this never affects our recommendations. We only suggest products we believe in. Read our full affiliate disclosure.
This guide covers barbell and plate kits (a straight bar, a curl rod, dumbbell rods and a set of plates), not multi-station home gym machines with cables and a seat.
Quick Answer
There is no single best set here, because the right one depends on how much weight you want in the box. In each weight tier, the pick is the set whose listing states the most and contradicts itself the least. Warranty is shown exactly as each listing states it.
Best 30 kg set: Hashtag Fitness 30 kg Steel. It is the only 30 kg listing here that gives the full plate breakdown (5 kg × 4 + 2.5 kg × 4), a load figure for its 5 ft bar (140 kg) and its lock type (4 spring locks). Warranty: 10-day replacement only.
Hashtag Fitness 30 kg Steel Home Gym Set — 5 ft Bar, 3 ft Curl Rod, Spring Locks
30 kg of steel plates (5 kg × 4 + 2.5 kg × 4), a 5 ft straight bar with a stated 140 kg user weight capacity, a 3 ft curl bar, two 14-inch dumbbell rods and 4 spring locks, per the listing. Warranty: 10-day replacement only.
Check Price on AmazonBest 50 kg set: Leeway 50 kg Rubber Combo. It states the plate breakdown (2.5 kg × 4 + 5 kg × 4 + 10 kg × 2), the bar diameter (28 mm) and the plate bore (31 mm), and Leeway's own store gives the same figures. Lock type and warranty: not stated.
Leeway 50 kg Rubber Home Gym Combo — 5 ft Bar + 3 ft Curl Rod, 28 mm Bars, 31 mm Bore
50 kg of rubber-coated tri-grip plates (2.5 kg × 4 + 5 kg × 4 + 10 kg × 2) with a 31 mm bore, a 5 ft straight bar, a 3 ft curl rod and 14-inch dumbbell rods, all 28 mm, per the listing and Leeway's store. Lock type: not stated. Warranty: not stated.
Check Price on AmazonOlympic option, if you have the space and a rack: BULLAR Olympic 7 ft Bar + 50 kg Bumper Plates. A different class of kit: a 7 ft Olympic bar with 50 mm sleeves, 51 mm bumper plates and a stated 350 kg maximum. Warranty: 6 months.
BULLAR Olympic 7 ft Barbell + 50 kg Rubber Bumper Plates — 50 mm Sleeves
A 7 ft Olympic bar with 50 mm sleeves and needle roller bearings, plus 50 kg of rubber bumper plates (10 kg × 2 + 7.5 kg × 2 + 5 kg × 2 + 2.5 kg × 2) with a 51 mm centre hole. Stated maximum: 350 kg. Collars: not stated. Warranty: 6 months, per the listing.
Check Price on AmazonAll four sets in this guide were in stock when it was written. Prices move with every sale, so check the live price on each card.
Search "home gym set" on Amazon India and the results run from a few hundred rupees to well over ten thousand, all with near-identical photos: a straight bar, a curl rod, two dumbbell rods and a stack of plates. Most buyers sort them by the number in the title: 16 kg, 20 kg, 30 kg, 50 kg.
That number tells you how much weight is in the box today. It does not tell you whether you can ever add to it. That depends on two smaller numbers most listings bury or skip: the diameter of the bar, and the size of the hole in the middle of each plate. This guide starts there.
How this guide was put together: I do not own any of these sets, so you will not find "I tested each of these" claims here. What follows is a specification comparison built from each product's Amazon India listing and, where the brand publishes one, its own store page. Where a listing does not state something, or contradicts itself, the table says so rather than guessing. How we source claims and where AI is used is set out in our editorial policy.
Bar Diameter and Plate Bore: The Spec That Decides Everything
Every plate has a hole in the middle (the bore), and every bar has a diameter. A plate only goes on a bar whose diameter is smaller than its bore. That sounds obvious, but home gym sets in India use at least four different sizes, and the listings do not always say which one you are getting:
← Swipe to compare →
| What the listing says | Where you see it |
|---|---|
| 23 mm or 25 mm bars | Many budget steel and PVC kits |
| 28 mm bars, 28 mm or 31 mm plate holes | Most rubber and metal-integrated kits here |
| 50 mm sleeves, 51 mm plate holes | Olympic bars and bumper plates |
The practical rule: plates are only interchangeable within one size. If you buy a 30 kg kit now and want to add plates in six months, you need plates with a bore that fits the bar you already own. Olympic plates (51 mm) will slide around on a 28 mm bar, and 28 mm plates will not go onto a 50 mm Olympic sleeve at all.
Here is why it is worth checking twice. One 30 kg steel set we looked at, and left out of this guide, gives its rods as 23 mm in its bullet points, says 25 mm in its own product description, and lists 23 mm for the 30 kg size in its own comparison chart. The same page calls the curl rod 3 ft in the title and 4 ft in the description. If you are buying spare plates for a set like that, you cannot tell from the listing which size to order.
What to do: before you buy, find the bar diameter and the plate bore on the listing. If either is missing, check the brand's own store, or ask the seller through Amazon's questions section. Write both numbers down: you will need them every time you buy plates.
30 kg or 50 kg: What the Box Weight Has to Cover
A home gym set's weight is the total of its plates, and you share those plates across every rod in the box. So a 30 kg set is never a 30 kg barbell plus two 15 kg dumbbells at the same time. It is 30 kg of plates you move between rods.
Simple arithmetic shows what each tier gives you:
← Swipe to compare →
| Kit | All plates on the barbell | Split across two dumbbells |
|---|---|---|
| 30 kg | 30 kg of plates, plus the bar's own weight | 15 kg of plates per dumbbell, plus the rod |
| 50 kg | 50 kg of plates, plus the bar's own weight | 25 kg of plates per dumbbell, plus the rod |
None of the listings here states what its bars and rods weigh on their own, so the true total is a little higher than the box number.
Two things follow. First, if you mostly want dumbbells, a home gym set is the indirect route: an adjustable dumbbell set puts all its weight into two handles. Second, if you want a barbell for squats, deadlifts and presses, buy the heaviest kit you can store, and make sure its bore is one you can buy more plates for later.
Why there is no 20 kg pick. "Home gym set 20 kg" is a common search, and we checked four 20 kg kits that include a barbell or curl rod. None had both a stated warranty and specs that agreed with themselves. On one, the only warranty contact on the page is an email address for a different brand. Two give an item weight (10 kg and 50 kg) that does not match the 20 kg in their own titles. For the fourth, sold in 20 kg on the brand's own store, the only Amazon listing we could find was the 10 kg size, and its page states no warranty. Several brands in this guide sell the same kit in smaller sizes as separate listings; if 20 kg is your budget, check that listing's own specs before you order rather than assuming they match the sizes compared here.
Weight Plates Set for Home: PVC, Steel or Rubber?
The plates decide how big, how loud and how hard-wearing the set is:
- PVC (cement-filled): the cheapest and the most common in the low price bands. They are bulky for their weight, which matters on a short dumbbell rod. Our adjustable dumbbells guide covers the PVC vs iron trade-off in more detail. No PVC kit made this list, for the warranty and contradiction reasons above.
- Steel or chrome-plated steel: thin for their weight, so more fits on each rod. The steel listing here makes no claim about floors or noise.
- Rubber-coated or "metal-integrated" rubber: a metal core with a rubber coat. The rubber listings here (Leeway and the BULLAR metal-integrated kit) say the coating reduces noise and protects flooring. That is the brands' claim; none of them says what kind of floor or what drop height.
- Rubber bumper plates (Olympic): full-size plates built for a 50 mm Olympic sleeve. Only the BULLAR Olympic kit here uses them.
Whatever the plates, Indian homes are mostly tiled. A dense equipment mat under the area where you load and set down plates protects the tile and keeps the noise down for the flat below.
Barbell and Plates Set: What Is Actually in the Box
Most kits in this guide share the same core, with small differences that matter:
- A 5 ft straight bar for squats, deadlifts, rows and presses. Every set here includes one, apart from the Olympic kit, which has a 7 ft bar instead.
- A curl rod (3 ft or 4 ft, often an "EZ" bend) for curls and triceps work.
- Two 14-inch dumbbell rods. Leeway's own store gives these as 35 cm.
- Locks or collars, which stop plates sliding off the ends. Spring locks clamp by squeezing; star nuts and star-lock collars screw onto threaded ends. Two listings here do not say which type they include.
- Accessories, usually gloves, a hand gripper and a skipping rope. These add little value; do not let them decide between two kits.
Which Set Suits You
← Swipe to compare →
| If this is you | Start with | What you have to accept |
|---|---|---|
| You want 30 kg with every key spec stated | Hashtag Fitness 30 kg Steel | A 10-day replacement, and no warranty term beyond it |
| You want 30 kg of rubber-coated plates | BULLAR 30 kg Metal-Integrated | No stated warranty or plate breakdown, and an item weight of 50 kg on a 30 kg set |
| You want 50 kg and the clearest plate and bar sizes | Leeway 50 kg Rubber Combo | No stated lock type or warranty, and two different 50 kg breakdowns sold under one name |
| You have the space and a rack, and want an Olympic bar | BULLAR Olympic 7 ft + 50 kg | A 7 ft bar, no curl or dumbbell rods, and collars not stated |
The Four Compared
← Swipe to compare →
| Set | Plates | Breakdown | Bar / plate hole | Rods | Locks | Stated max | Warranty (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hashtag Fitness 30 kg Steel | Steel¹ | 5 × 4 + 2.5 × 4 | Not stated / 28 mm² | 5 ft, 3 ft curl, 2 × 14 in | 4 spring locks | 140 kg (5 ft bar) | 10-day replacement only |
| BULLAR 30 kg Metal-Integrated | Rubber, metal core | Not stated | Not stated / 28 mm | 5 ft, 3 ft EZ curl, 2 × 14 in | Star-lock collars | 100 kg³ | Not stated |
| Leeway 50 kg Rubber Combo | Rubber, tri-grip | 2.5 × 4 + 5 × 4 + 10 × 2⁴ | 28 mm / 31 mm | 5 ft, 3 ft curl, 2 × 14 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| BULLAR Olympic 7 ft + 50 kg | Rubber bumper | 10 × 2 + 7.5 × 2 + 5 × 2 + 2.5 × 2 | 50 mm sleeves / 51 mm | 7 ft Olympic bar only | Not stated | 350 kg | 6 months |
¹ The Hashtag listing's specification table says "Alloy Steel"; Hashtag's description on the same page says "Mild Steel plates … coated with nickel chrome". The spec table also gives an item weight of 40 kg for this 30 kg set, without explaining the difference. ² The Amazon listing does not state the bore. Hashtag's own store lists its 30 kg chrome steel plate set, with the same 5 × 4 + 2.5 × 4 breakdown, as having a 28 mm hole. ³ The BULLAR listing gives "Weight Capacity Maximum 100 kg" in the specification table without saying which bar it applies to, and gives its item weight as 50 kg. ⁴ A second Leeway listing with the same name uses a different 50 kg breakdown (2.5 × 2 + 5 × 2 + 7.5 × 2 + 10 × 2), and Leeway's own store sells both as "50kg Set 1st" and "50kg Set 2nd". Check which one the size selector shows before you order.
Specifications are from each product's Amazon India listing and, for Hashtag Fitness and Leeway, the brand's own store. No prices here: they move with every sale, so check the live price on each card.
The Reviews
1. Hashtag Fitness 30 kg Steel — Best 30 kg Set
This set leads the 30 kg tier because its listing answers the questions that matter for a barbell kit. The plates are listed in full: four 5 kg and four 2.5 kg, 30 kg in all. The 5 ft straight bar has a stated user weight capacity of 140 kg, the only bar-specific load figure among the 30 kg kits here. It comes with a 3 ft curl bar, two 14-inch dumbbell rods and 4 spring locks, which the listing says stop plates coming off while you lift. Steel plates are thin for their weight, so more of them fit on each rod.
What to weigh: the warranty is a 10-day replacement only. Hashtag's own store says it replaces items damaged in transit or with a manufacturing defect free of cost, but gives no warranty term. The listing does not state the plate bore; Hashtag's store gives 28 mm for its matching 30 kg plate set. The specification table and description disagree on the steel (alloy vs mild steel with a nickel-chrome coat), and the table lists a 40 kg item weight.
Buy this if: you want a 30 kg barbell kit whose plate breakdown, bar load figure and lock type are all stated, and a short replacement window does not worry you.
Hashtag Fitness 30 kg Steel Home Gym Set — 5 ft Bar, 3 ft Curl Rod, Spring Locks
30 kg of steel plates (5 kg × 4 + 2.5 kg × 4), a 5 ft straight bar with a stated 140 kg user weight capacity, a 3 ft curl bar, two 14-inch dumbbell rods and 4 spring locks, per the listing. Warranty: 10-day replacement only.
Check Price on Amazon2. BULLAR 30 kg Metal-Integrated Rubber — Rubber Plates at 30 kg
If you would rather have rubber-coated plates than bare steel at 30 kg, this is the one to look at. The plates have a metal core, a rubber coat and three cut-out grips, and the listing states a 28 mm plate hole. It includes a 5 ft straight bar, a 3 ft EZ curl rod and two 14-inch dumbbell rods with star nuts, and BULLAR's description adds star-lock collars that screw onto threaded ends. The specification table gives a maximum weight capacity of 100 kg.
What to weigh: the listing does not state the warranty or the plate breakdown, so you cannot tell from the page how the 30 kg is divided. It does not say which bar the 100 kg figure applies to. The specification table gives the item weight as 50 kg, on a set sold as 30 kg. BULLAR's listing does not state the bar diameter, only the plate hole.
Buy this if: you want rubber-coated plates at 30 kg and a stated lock type, and you are willing to confirm the plate breakdown and warranty with the seller first.
BULLAR 30 kg Metal-Integrated Rubber Home Gym Set — 5 ft Bar, 3 ft EZ Curl, 28 mm Hole
30 kg of metal-integrated rubber tri-grip plates with a 28 mm hole, a 5 ft straight bar, a 3 ft EZ curl rod and two 14-inch dumbbell rods with star nuts and star-lock collars, per the listing. Stated maximum: 100 kg. Plate breakdown: not stated. Warranty: not stated.
Check Price on Amazon3. Leeway 50 kg Rubber Combo — Best 50 kg Set
The Leeway combo leads the 50 kg tier because it states both halves of the bore question. The bars are 28 mm, and the rubber-coated plates have a 31 mm bore, a pairing Leeway's own store repeats for the matching black tri-grip combo. The plates are listed in full: four 2.5 kg, four 5 kg and two 10 kg. You get a 5 ft straight bar, a 3 ft curl rod and 14-inch dumbbell rods (35 cm on Leeway's store). Leeway also sells this combo up to 120 kg, so the plate size is one you can keep buying into.
What to weigh: neither the listing nor Leeway's store page for this combo states the lock type or a warranty; the listing says to contact Leeway's customer care by email. A second listing with the same name carries a different 50 kg breakdown, and Leeway's store sells both versions, so check the size selector. The listing also says to wipe off the silicone oil coating on the set before first use. It gives no maximum load.
Buy this if: you want 50 kg with the bar and bore sizes stated and confirmed by the brand, and you will ask Leeway about the locks and warranty before you order.
Leeway 50 kg Rubber Home Gym Combo — 5 ft Bar + 3 ft Curl Rod, 28 mm Bars, 31 mm Bore
50 kg of rubber-coated tri-grip plates (2.5 kg × 4 + 5 kg × 4 + 10 kg × 2) with a 31 mm bore, a 5 ft straight bar, a 3 ft curl rod and 14-inch dumbbell rods, all 28 mm, per the listing and Leeway's store. Lock type: not stated. Warranty: not stated.
Check Price on Amazon4. BULLAR Olympic 7 ft Bar + 50 kg Bumper Plates — Olympic Option
This kit is a different class from the other three. Instead of a 5 ft bar and curl rods, you get one 7 ft Olympic bar with 50 mm sleeves and needle roller bearings, and 50 kg of rubber bumper plates with a 51 mm centre hole: two each of 10 kg, 7.5 kg, 5 kg and 2.5 kg. The specification table states a 350 kg maximum, by far the highest here, and the listing carries a 6-month warranty, the longest stated warranty among the four sets.
What to weigh: the bar is about 2.1 m long per the listing, so measure your room's width first. There are no curl or dumbbell rods. The listing does not state the bar's own weight or which collars, if any, are included. It gives the loadable sleeve as 14 inches in the bullet points and 15 inches in the specification table. No rack is included; our weight bench guide explains why heavy barbell pressing needs one.
Buy this if: you have the floor width and a rack, and you want a bar and plate size you can keep building on.
BULLAR Olympic 7 ft Barbell + 50 kg Rubber Bumper Plates — 50 mm Sleeves
A 7 ft Olympic bar with 50 mm sleeves and needle roller bearings, plus 50 kg of rubber bumper plates (10 kg × 2 + 7.5 kg × 2 + 5 kg × 2 + 2.5 kg × 2) with a 51 mm centre hole. Stated maximum: 350 kg. Collars: not stated. Warranty: 6 months, per the listing.
Check Price on AmazonLocks, Load Limits and Floors: What the Listings Say
Everything in this section comes from the product listings and brand stores named, product by product. Where a listing says nothing, we say so.
Locks and collars. Hashtag's listing includes 4 spring locks for the bar and says plates "can't come out when you lift the weight". The BULLAR metal-integrated kit describes star-lock collars with screws, plus star nuts on the dumbbell rods. Leeway's listing and its store page for this combo do not state the lock type, and the BULLAR Olympic listing does not say which collars, if any, come in the box. If the listing does not say, ask the seller before ordering.
Stated load limits mean different things. Hashtag gives 140 kg as the "user weight capacity" of its 5 ft bar. The BULLAR metal-integrated kit gives "Weight Capacity Maximum 100 kg" without naming a bar. The BULLAR Olympic listing gives 350 kg. On kits we did not pick, the same field held the weight of the box contents, or an unexplained figure. Treat a load figure as meaningful only when the listing says which bar it belongs to, and none of the kits here comes with a rack or stand rating.
Floors. The Leeway and BULLAR metal-integrated listings say the rubber coating protects flooring and reduces noise; that is the brands' claim, without a floor type or drop height. Hashtag's steel listing makes no floor claim. Leeway's listing says to wipe the silicone oil coating off the set before first use.
Racks. None of these kits includes a rack or safety pins, and none of the listings gives guidance on using one. If you plan to bench press or squat with the barbell, our weight bench guide covers that.
Home Gym Set, Adjustable Dumbbells or a Bench: What to Buy First
- Home gym set: the barbell is the reason to buy one. If you want squats, deadlifts and barbell rows at home, this is the category.
- Adjustable dumbbells: if you mainly want dumbbell work, our adjustable dumbbells guide compares spin-lock and dial sets, which put all their weight into two handles.
- A bench: comes after the weight, not before. Our weight bench guide explains how to read its capacity figure, which has to cover you as well as the barbell.
If your budget is tight, our budget home gym guide covers the cheaper essentials to buy first.
Who Should Not Buy One
- You only want dumbbells. A home gym set spreads its weight across several rods. An adjustable dumbbell set is the more direct buy.
- You have nowhere to store loose plates. Plates live on the floor or on a stand. If that space does not exist, bands and a pull-up bar may suit you better.
- You plan to press or squat heavy with no rack. None of these kits includes one; see the weight bench guide first.
- You cannot get the bore and bar size from the seller. Without them, you cannot safely add plates later, and the kit's weight in the title is all you will ever have.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better, a 30 kg or a 50 kg home gym set?
It depends on what you will load. The weight is shared across every rod, so a 30 kg kit gives you 30 kg of plates on the barbell or 15 kg per dumbbell, plus the rods themselves. If barbell lifts are the reason you are buying, the 50 kg kit lasts longer before you need more plates. Either way, check the bore so you can add plates later.
Is a home gym set 50 kg worth it for home use?
If you want a barbell for squats, deadlifts and presses, a 50 kg kit gives you more room to progress before you buy more plates. Check that you have somewhere to store 50 kg of plates, and that the bar and plate sizes are stated so extra plates will fit.
Can I add more weight plates to my home gym set later?
Yes, as long as the new plates' bore fits your bar. Plates are only interchangeable within one size: 23–25 mm, 28 mm, or 50 mm Olympic. Write down your bar diameter and plate bore when you buy the kit, and match them when you buy more.
What is the difference between 25 mm, 28 mm and Olympic bars?
The diameter of the part the plates slide onto. Many budget kits use 23–25 mm bars, most rubber and metal-integrated kits here use 28 mm bars with 28–31 mm plate holes, and Olympic bars have 50 mm sleeves for plates with a 51 mm hole. They are not interchangeable.
Which weight plates set for home is best: PVC, steel or rubber?
Steel plates are thin for their weight, so more fit on a rod. Rubber-coated plates are marketed as quieter and kinder to floors. PVC plates are the cheapest but the bulkiest. No PVC kit made this guide, because none of the ones we checked had a stated warranty and consistent specs.
Is a 3 ft curl rod a barbell?
It is a short bar for curls and triceps work. For squats, deadlifts and presses you need the longer straight bar, usually 5 ft in these kits, which every set here except the Olympic kit includes. Some budget kits include only a curl rod.
Do I need a bench with a home gym set?
Not to start. Squats, deadlifts, rows, overhead presses and curls need no bench. A bench adds pressing and seated work, and it should come after you own the weight. Our weight bench guide covers what to check.
Do I need a rack?
None of the kits here includes a rack or safety pins, and none of the listings covers it. Our weight bench guide explains when a barbell needs one.
What does "maximum capacity" mean on these listings?
It depends on the listing. Hashtag ties its 140 kg to the 5 ft bar; BULLAR's metal-integrated kit gives 100 kg without naming a bar; on other kits the same field held the weight of the box contents. Treat the figure as useful only when the listing says what it applies to.
Why is there no 20 kg set in this guide?
We checked four 20 kg kits with a barbell or curl rod, and none had both a stated warranty and specs that agreed with themselves. If 20 kg is your budget, several brands here sell smaller sizes of the same kits as separate listings; read that listing's own specs before ordering.
Final Word
Check the bar diameter and the plate bore before the weight in the title. At 30 kg, the Hashtag Fitness steel set states the most: its plate breakdown, a 140 kg bar figure and spring locks, with a 10-day replacement as the catch. At 50 kg, the Leeway rubber combo states its 28 mm bars and 31 mm bore and is backed by Leeway's own store, but you will need to ask about locks and warranty. The BULLAR metal-integrated kit suits you if you want rubber plates and stated star-lock collars at 30 kg, and the BULLAR Olympic kit is the long-term option if you have the space and a rack.
For the rest of a home setup, see the weight bench guide, the adjustable dumbbells guide and our home workout guide for routines.
📖 Read Also:
Best Gym Bench in India: 5 Compared on Safety FirstThe bench comes after the barbell. How to read its capacity figure, which has to cover your own weight as well as the bar.
Free Tools to Help You
Put this article into action — use our free calculators to get your personalized numbers.
Was this article helpful?
Want More Tips Like This?
Join 1,000+ readers getting weekly fitness, diet, and wellness tips + FREE meal plan
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

About the Author: Ashwani
Fitness enthusiast and wellness writer. I research and write about home workout equipment and supplements — so you can make informed decisions without wasting money.
Read more about us →Comments
Leave a Comment
Your email will not be published. Comments are reviewed before appearing.
You Might Also Like
Continue your wellness journey

18 min read
Best Pull-Up Bar for Home in India: Doorway vs Wall-Mounted, 6 Compared
Six pull-up bars for home, compared on what actually holds you up: mount type, frame width range, stated load, grip positions, drilling and warranty, plus why the kg on the box is not the number that matters.

22 min read
Best Cross Trainer for Home in India: 6 Elliptical Trainers Compared
Six elliptical cross trainers for home, compared on the spec most buyers skip: stride length. Plus flywheel, the real user-weight limit, warranty and footprint, with every listing contradiction shown.

19 min read
Best Smart Scale in India: 4 vs 8 Electrodes, 5 Body Fat Scales Compared
Five smart and body fat scales compared on what they actually measure: electrodes and current path, where the readings show, max weight, app, users and warranty, plus what a BIA reading can and cannot tell you.