Best Cross Trainer for Home in India: 6 Elliptical Trainers Compared
Six elliptical cross trainers for home, compared on the spec most buyers skip: stride length. Plus flywheel, the real user-weight limit, warranty and footprint, with every listing contradiction shown.

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you — this never affects our recommendations. We only suggest products we believe in. Read our full affiliate disclosure.
Quick Answer
For most homes, buy the Durafit91 Neostride. Its listing states every spec this guide checks, and none of them contradict each other: an 18-inch stride (the longest here, tied with one other), a 7 kg flywheel, 8 levels of magnetic resistance, a 130 kg user limit and an adjustable seat. The catch is the warranty: 6 months, on both the listing and Durafit's own product page. If a longer warranty matters more to you than stride, the Cockatoo CE03 Advance carries 1 year on parts and a lifetime frame warranty.
Durafit91 Neostride Elliptical Cross Trainer — 18-Inch Stride, 7 kg Flywheel, 130 kg
An 18-inch stride, a 7 kg flywheel, 8-level manual magnetic resistance, a 130 kg user limit, a seat that adjusts up-down and forward-back, hand pulse sensors and an LCD display, per the listing. Warranty: 6 months, per the listing and Durafit's product page. Home installation is a paid service.
Check Price on AmazonEvery machine below is a full-size elliptical cross trainer, and all six were in stock when this guide was written. Five of the six were under ₹20,000; the Propel CX 83i costs considerably more. Prices move with sales, so check the live price on each card.
A cross trainer (also called an elliptical, and sometimes sold as an "orbitrek") gives you cardio with your feet never leaving the pedals. There is no landing impact as there is in running, no motor and no stabiliser, and the moving handles bring your arms in too. In India it is the home cardio machine people ask about when running hurts and a cycle feels like too little.
Most buyers compare cross trainers on flywheel weight and price. This guide starts with a spec that usually sits further down the listing, or is missing from it: stride length, the distance your foot travels front to back on each step. Across six cross trainers sold in the same price band, it runs from about 12 to 18 inches. That difference decides whether the machine fits the way you walk.
How this guide was put together: I have not owned or used a cross trainer, so you will not find "I tested each of these for months" claims here. What follows is a specification comparison built from each product's Amazon India listing and, where the brand publishes one, its own product page. Where a listing does not state a spec, or contradicts itself, the table says so rather than guessing. How we source claims and where AI is used is set out in our editorial policy.
Cross Trainer, Treadmill or Exercise Cycle?
All three give you cardio indoors. They suit different people:
- Cross trainer: standing, low-impact, arms and legs together, no motor. Good if running hurts or you want your upper body working too. It takes more floor space and height than a cycle.
- Treadmill: the only one of the three you can run on, but it needs a motor, a stabiliser and permanent floor space. Our guide to the best treadmills under ₹15,000 compares six.
- Exercise cycle: seated, the most compact and the easiest to start on. Our exercise cycle guide compares six across spin, upright and air bikes.
Three of the six cross trainers here (the Durafit91 Neostride, Welcare WC6044 and Cockatoo Trainer-X) have a seat, and the Welcare is sold as a 2-in-1 that switches to a seated cycling motion. If you cannot decide between a cross trainer and a cycle, those are the machines to look at.
Stride Length: The Spec That Decides the Fit
On a cross trainer, the pedals travel along a fixed oval. The stride length is how long that oval is from front to back. You cannot change it on any machine in this guide, so it decides whether the motion feels like your own walk or like short, quick steps.
Here is what the six listings state:
← Swipe to compare →
| Model | Stride | Where the figure comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Durafit91 Neostride | 18 in | Amazon specification table |
| Cockatoo Trainer-X | 18 in | Amazon specification table |
| Cockatoo CE03 Advance | 15.75 in | Cockatoo's product description on the listing only; the specification table has no stride row |
| Propel CX 83i | 15 in | Amazon listing and Propel's product page |
| Welcare WC6044 | 14 in | Amazon specification table and bullets |
| Cult SmartCrossNeo | 31 cm (about 12 in) | Amazon specification table, in centimetres |
Three things stand out. The longest stride is half as long again as the shortest, at similar prices. One figure is given in centimetres, which makes the machine look closer to the others than it is. And one of the best-known models states its stride only in a description block further down the page. A model we left out, the Cult smartcross Bern, does not state its stride at all.
What stride do you need? No standards body or university source we could find publishes a stride-by-height chart, and the retailer charts online disagree with each other, so this guide does not give one. Instead, compare with your own walk: take ten normal steps, measure the distance and divide by ten. A machine whose stride is much shorter than your natural step is likely to feel short and choppy. If you can, try a cross trainer in a shop before you buy, and if two people of very different heights will share the machine, lean towards the longer stride.
What Else Actually Matters
1. The real user-weight limit
The listed limit is a ceiling, not a target, and on cross trainers the listings often disagree with themselves:
- The Cockatoo CE03 Advance says 120 kg in one bullet and 110 kg in the next.
- The Propel CX 83i says 140 kg on Amazon, but Propel's own product page says 120 kg.
- The Welcare WC6044 is rated 90 kg, the lowest here. Its near-twin from the same manufacturer, the MAXPRO MP6066, says "designed for 100 kg, ideal for user up to 90 kg".
When two figures conflict, plan around the lower one. Cult's listing for a sibling model (the smartcross Bern) states its own buffer: choose a machine rated at least 20 kg above your body weight.
2. Flywheel weight
A heavier flywheel keeps the pedal motion smoother, especially at slow speeds. The figures here run from 4 kg (Cult SmartCrossNeo) to 8 kg (Propel CX 83i). Amazon lists the Propel as a "14 kg" flywheel, but Propel's own page splits that into an 8 kg flywheel plus a 6 kg crank disc. Flywheel weight is worth comparing between similar machines, but it does not fix a stride that is too short for you.
3. Resistance type and levels
All six use magnetic resistance: magnets move closer to the flywheel without touching it, so nothing rubs and there is no pad to wear out. Four list 8 levels, the Cockatoo CE03 Advance lists 7 or 8, and the Propel CX 83i has 15. Those last two listings contradict themselves on the count (see the footnotes under the comparison table).
4. Warranty, installation and service
Warranty terms vary more than any other spec here, from 6 months to 1 year on parts with a lifetime frame:
- Cockatoo CE03 Advance: 1 year on parts and a lifetime frame warranty, per the listing.
- Cockatoo Trainer-X, Welcare WC6044, Propel CX 83i: 1 year.
- Durafit91 Neostride, Cult SmartCrossNeo: 6 months.
Read the service terms too. Durafit's warranty page says technician visit charges are paid by the customer, and its Neostride page lists home installation as a paid service. The Welcare listing says installation and service charges are extra. Propel's CX 83i page offers guided video installation and optional on-site assembly at a charge.
5. Floor space and ceiling height
A cross trainer is longer than an exercise cycle, and you stand on pedals that rise as they move, so check your ceiling as well as the floor. The assembled sizes the listings give (depth × width × height) are 124.5 × 61 × 150 cm (Welcare WC6044), 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm (Cockatoo Trainer-X and Cult SmartCrossNeo) and 148 × 70 × 155 cm (Propel CX 83i). For the Durafit91 Neostride and Cockatoo CE03 Advance, the size rows do not read as an assembled footprint (see the footnotes), so this guide lists them as not stated. Measure the space, and leave room to step on and off.
Which Cross Trainer Suits You
← Swipe to compare →
| If this is you | The one to look at | What you have to accept |
|---|---|---|
| You want the longest stride and every spec stated | Durafit91 Neostride | A 6-month warranty, and paid technician visits |
| You want the longest warranty | Cockatoo CE03 Advance | Its listing conflicts on user weight (110 vs 120 kg) and levels (7 vs 8) |
| You want a seat and a cycling mode | Welcare WC6044 | A 90 kg user limit and a 14-inch stride |
| You want an 18-inch stride with a 1-year warranty | Cockatoo Trainer-X | A 5 kg flywheel, and limited stock when this guide was written |
| You are shorter, or want a 130 kg limit from a big brand | Cult SmartCrossNeo | The shortest stride here (31 cm) and a 4 kg flywheel |
| You want the widest resistance range | Propel CX 83i | A much higher price, the largest footprint, and a 120 kg limit on Propel's own page |
The Six Compared
← Swipe to compare →
| Model | Stride | Flywheel | Resistance | Max user | Seat | Footprint (D × W × H) | Warranty (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Durafit91 Neostride | 18 in | 7 kg | Magnetic, 8 | 130 kg | Yes | Not stated¹ | 6 months |
| Cockatoo CE03 Advance | 15.75 in² | 7 kg | Magnetic, 7 or 8³ | 110 or 120 kg⁴ | Not stated | Not stated⁵ | 1 yr parts, lifetime frame |
| Welcare WC6044 | 14 in | 5 kg | Magnetic, 8 | 90 kg | Yes, 2-in-1 | 124.5 × 61 × 150 cm | 1 yr |
| Cockatoo Trainer-X | 18 in | 5 kg | Magnetic, 8 | 120 kg | Yes | 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm | 1 yr |
| Cult SmartCrossNeo | 31 cm (~12 in) | 4 kg | Magnetic, 8 | 130 kg | Not stated | 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm | 6 months |
| Propel CX 83i | 15 in | 8 kg + 6 kg crank disc⁶ | Magnetic, 15⁷ | 120 kg⁸ | Not stated | 148 × 70 × 155 cm | 1 yr |
¹ The Neostride listing's size row reads 98 × 168 × 159 cm, which would make it far wider than it is deep. Durafit's product page does not state a size, so this guide does not rely on that figure. ² The CE03 Advance's stride appears only in Cockatoo's product description on the listing; its specification table has no stride row. ³ The CE03 Advance's specification table says 7 resistance levels; its product description says 8. ⁴ The CE03 Advance's first bullet and product description say 120 kg; its second bullet says 110 kg. Plan around 110 kg. ⁵ The CE03 Advance's size row reads 29 × 98 × 59 cm, which looks like a packed box rather than the assembled machine. ⁶ Amazon lists a "14 kg" flywheel; Propel's product page describes it as an 8 kg flywheel plus a 6 kg crank disc. This guide uses Propel's figures. ⁷ One row of the Amazon specification table says "8-Level Magnetic"; the rest of the listing and Propel's page say 15 levels. ⁸ Propel's own product page says 120 kg; Amazon lists 140 kg. This guide uses Propel's figure.
Specifications are from each product's Amazon India listing and, for the Durafit91 Neostride and Propel CX 83i, the brand's own product page. No prices here: they move with every sale, so check the live price on each card.
The Reviews
1. Durafit91 Neostride — Best Overall
The Neostride leads because its listing answers every question this guide asks, and the answers agree with each other and with Durafit's own page. It has an 18-inch stride, tied for the longest here, a 7 kg flywheel with 8 levels of manual magnetic resistance, and a 130 kg user limit, tied with the Cult SmartCrossNeo for the highest here once the Propel's conflicting figure is set aside. The seat adjusts both up and down and forward and back, there are dual handlebars and hand pulse sensors, and the LCD shows time, speed, distance, calories and heart rate.
What to weigh: the warranty is 6 months, on both the listing and Durafit's product page. Durafit's general warranty page also describes a 1-year frame warranty without naming models, so ask Durafit which applies before you order. Technician visits and home installation are paid. Its Amazon reviews are shared with Durafit's other ellipticals, so they say little about this model on its own.
Buy this if: you want the longest stride and a high user limit, and you can accept a shorter warranty.
Durafit91 Neostride Elliptical Cross Trainer — 18-Inch Stride, 7 kg Flywheel, 130 kg
An 18-inch stride, a 7 kg flywheel, 8-level manual magnetic resistance, a 130 kg user limit, a seat that adjusts up-down and forward-back, hand pulse sensors and an LCD display, per the listing. Warranty: 6 months, per the listing and Durafit's product page. Home installation is a paid service.
Check Price on Amazon2. Cockatoo CE03 Advance — Longest Warranty
The CE03 Advance carries the longest warranty here: 1 year on parts and a lifetime warranty on the frame, per the listing. It has a 7 kg flywheel, magnetic resistance and 3-position adjustable pedals, and it is the only listing here that states a user height range, 160–195 cm. Cockatoo's product description gives a 15.75-inch stride and a console that tracks time, distance, speed, wattage, heart rate, calories and RPM.
What to weigh: the listing contradicts itself twice. It says 7 resistance levels in the specification table and 8 in the description, and 120 kg in one bullet and 110 kg in the next. The stride appears only in the description block, not in the specification table. If you weigh close to 110 kg, ask Cockatoo before you order.
Buy this if: warranty length is your first priority and you are comfortably under 110 kg.
Cockatoo CE03 Advance Elliptical Cross Trainer — 7 kg Flywheel, 1 Yr Parts + Lifetime Frame
A 7 kg flywheel, magnetic resistance, 3-position adjustable pedals and a stated user height range of 160–195 cm, per the listing. Cockatoo's description gives a 15.75-inch stride. Warranty: 1 year on parts, lifetime on the frame. The listing gives both 7 and 8 resistance levels, and both 110 and 120 kg as the user limit.
Check Price on Amazon3. Welcare WC6044 — Best 2-in-1 with Seat
The WC6044 is the pick if you want both motions in one machine. It switches between an elliptical stride and a seated cycling motion, with an adjustable seat. It has a 5 kg two-way flywheel, 8 levels of magnetic resistance, a 14-inch stride, hand pulse sensors, a device holder and transport wheels. The listing gives an assembled size of 124.5 × 61 × 150 cm and a 1-year warranty.
What to weigh: the 90 kg user limit is the lowest here, and the listing says installation and service charges are extra. The 14-inch stride is on the shorter side of this group.
The MAXPRO MP6066 is a near-twin from the same manufacturer, with a heavier flywheel in its title (8 kg) but the same 14-inch stride and 90 kg ideal user weight; its own description also mentions a 5 kg flywheel, so check before paying more for it.
Buy this if: you want a cross trainer and a seated cycle in one, and you weigh well under 90 kg.
Welcare WC6044 Elliptical Cross Trainer — 2-in-1 with Seat, 14-Inch Stride, 90 kg
A 2-in-1 elliptical and seated cycle with an adjustable seat, a 5 kg two-way flywheel, 8-level magnetic resistance, a 14-inch stride, hand pulse sensors and transport wheels, per the listing. 90 kg user limit. 1-year warranty; installation and service charges extra.
Check Price on Amazon4. Cockatoo Trainer-X — Long Stride with a 1-Year Warranty
The Trainer-X matches the Neostride's 18-inch stride but carries a 1-year warranty instead of 6 months. It has 8 levels of magnetic resistance, a seat, hand pulse sensors and a console with auto start and stop, and it is rated for 120 kg. The listing gives an assembled size of 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm.
What to weigh: the flywheel is 5 kg, lighter than the Neostride's 7 kg, and the user limit is 120 kg rather than 130 kg. The listing showed only a few units left when this guide was written.
Buy this if: you want a long stride and a full year of warranty, and you are comfortably under 120 kg.
Cockatoo Trainer-X Elliptical Cross Trainer — 18-Inch Stride, Seat, 120 kg
An 18-inch stride, a 5 kg flywheel, 8-level magnetic resistance, a seat, hand pulse sensors and a console with auto start and stop, per the listing. 120 kg user limit. Assembled size 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm. 1-year warranty.
Check Price on Amazon5. Cult SmartCrossNeo — Most Compact Stride
The SmartCrossNeo is the counter-example that shows why stride matters. On paper it looks strong: a 130 kg user limit and 8 levels of magnetic resistance from a large brand. But its stride is 31 cm, about 12 inches, the shortest here, and the listing gives it in centimetres, so it is easy to miss next to machines quoted at 15–18 inches. The listing gives an assembled size of 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm.
What to weigh: the 4 kg flywheel is the lightest here, and the warranty is 6 months against manufacturing defects.
Buy this if: you are on the shorter side, your own walking step is short, and you want a high user limit.
Cult SmartCrossNeo Magnetic Elliptical Trainer — 31 cm Stride, 4 kg Flywheel, 130 kg
A 31 cm (about 12-inch) stride, a 4 kg flywheel, 8-level magnetic resistance and a 130 kg user limit, per the listing. Assembled size 115 × 63.5 × 155 cm. 6-month warranty on manufacturing defects.
Check Price on Amazon6. Propel CX 83i — Most Resistance Levels
The CX 83i has 15 levels of magnetic resistance, the widest range here; every other machine lists 8 (or, for the CE03 Advance, 7 or 8). It uses a belt drive and an 8 kg flywheel plus a 6 kg crank disc, per Propel's page, and the machine itself weighs 62 kg, about twice most of the others. The stride is 15 inches, the pedals and the handle height adjust, and the listing gives an assembled size of 148 × 70 × 155 cm, the largest here. Propel's page lists guided video installation, optional paid on-site assembly and service through FitnessOne's stores in Tamil Nadu and Bengaluru.
What to weigh: it costs considerably more than the other five, and it takes the most floor space. Its user limit is 120 kg on Propel's own product page (Amazon lists 140 kg), no higher than the cheaper Cockatoo machines. Its 15-inch stride is shorter than the two 18-inch machines here.
Buy this if: you want the widest range of resistance levels to progress through, and the price and footprint suit you.
Propel CX 83i Elliptical Cross Trainer — 15 Magnetic Levels, Belt Drive, 120 kg
15-level magnetic resistance, an 8 kg flywheel plus a 6 kg crank disc, a 15-inch stride, a belt drive and a 62 kg machine weight, per the listing and Propel's product page. 120 kg user limit per Propel (Amazon lists 140 kg). 1-year warranty.
Check Price on AmazonHow Many Calories Does a Cross Trainer Burn?
It depends on how hard you work. The Compendium of Physical Activities gives two MET values for an elliptical trainer; for a 70 kg adult, a 30-minute session works out roughly as follows:
← Swipe to compare →
| Effort (Compendium 2024) | MET | ~kcal in 30 min (70 kg) |
|---|---|---|
| Elliptical trainer, moderate effort | 5.0 | ~175 |
| Elliptical trainer, vigorous effort | 9.0 | ~315 |
Heavier people burn more, lighter people less. The console's calorie number is an estimate based on the same kind of formula.
A cross trainer helps fat loss the same way walking or cycling does: as part of a calorie deficit, not instead of one. No exercise burns fat from one body part, so it will not target belly fat on its own. Our calorie deficit guide covers how the food side fits in.
Before You Buy: Setup, Floor and Space
- Ceiling: you stand on pedals that rise as they move, so check the height between the top of the pedal stroke and your ceiling, not just the floor area.
- Floor: put a dense equipment mat under the machine. It protects tile, stops creeping and reduces noise in an upper-floor flat.
- Space: measure the listed footprint and leave room to step on and off from the side.
- Maintenance: check the bolts after the first few sessions, and again whenever you hear a new knock or squeak.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a cross trainer good for weight loss?
It helps as part of a calorie deficit. At a moderate effort, 30 minutes burns roughly 175 calories for a 70 kg adult, and a vigorous effort about 315, per the Compendium of Physical Activities. That is useful daily, but what you eat still decides most of the result.
Can a cross trainer reduce belly fat?
Not on its own, and not selectively. No exercise burns fat from one area. A cross trainer adds to your daily calorie burn, and a consistent calorie deficit is what reduces fat everywhere, including the belly.
Cross trainer or treadmill: which is better for home?
A treadmill lets you run, and a cross trainer does not. A cross trainer has no landing impact, needs no motor or stabiliser, and works your arms through the handles. If running is the goal, see our treadmill guide; if you want low-impact cardio for the whole body, a cross trainer fits better.
Cross trainer or exercise cycle?
A cycle is seated, more compact and simpler to start on. A cross trainer is standing, uses your arms as well, and needs more floor and ceiling space. If you are unsure, a 2-in-1 like the Welcare WC6044 does both motions. Our exercise cycle guide compares the cycle options.
Is an elliptical the same as a cross trainer?
Yes. In India, "cross trainer", "elliptical" and "elliptical cross trainer" describe the same machine, and some listings also call it an "orbitrek". The name refers to the oval path the pedals follow.
What stride length do I need?
No standards body publishes a stride-by-height chart, and the retailer charts disagree, so compare with your own walk instead. Take ten normal steps, measure the distance and divide by ten. A machine whose stride is much shorter than your natural step is likely to feel choppy. Among the six here, strides run from about 12 inches (Cult SmartCrossNeo) to 18 inches (Durafit91 Neostride and Cockatoo Trainer-X).
Is a cross trainer good for your knees?
Your feet stay on the pedals, so there is no landing impact as there is in running, which is why many people choose it. If you have a knee injury or ongoing pain, check with a physiotherapist before you start.
How much user-weight capacity do I need?
At least 20 kg above your body weight, which is the buffer Cult's listing for the smartcross Bern advises. When a listing gives two figures, as the Cockatoo CE03 Advance and Propel CX 83i do, plan around the lower one.
How long should I use a cross trainer each day?
Start with 20–30 minutes at a moderate effort and build from there. For a 70 kg adult, burning 500 calories takes about 85 minutes at a moderate effort (5.0 MET) or about 50 minutes at a vigorous one (9.0 MET), so most people get there over a week, not one session.
Final Word
Check the stride before the flywheel. For most homes, the Durafit91 Neostride is the safest start: an 18-inch stride, a 7 kg flywheel, a 130 kg limit and no contradictions on the listing, with a 6-month warranty as the trade-off. Choose the Cockatoo CE03 Advance for the longest warranty, the Welcare WC6044 for a seat and cycling mode, the Cockatoo Trainer-X for an 18-inch stride with a 1-year warranty, the Cult SmartCrossNeo if your own step is short, and the Propel CX 83i for the most resistance levels.
If you would rather run or sit, the treadmill guide and exercise cycle guide cover those. For strength work alongside your cardio, our home workout guide has routines that need no machine at all.
📖 Read Also:
Calorie Deficit Explained: How Weight Loss Actually WorksWhy a cross trainer helps fat loss only as part of a calorie deficit, and how to fit cardio in without wrecking your recovery.
Free Tools to Help You
Put this article into action — use our free calculators to get your personalized numbers.
Was this article helpful?
Want More Tips Like This?
Join 1,000+ readers getting weekly fitness, diet, and wellness tips + FREE meal plan
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

About the Author: Ashwani
Fitness enthusiast and wellness writer. I research and write about home workout equipment and supplements — so you can make informed decisions without wasting money.
Read more about us →Comments
Leave a Comment
Your email will not be published. Comments are reviewed before appearing.
You Might Also Like
Continue your wellness journey

20 min read
Best Exercise Cycle for Home in India: 6 Compared on Resistance, Flywheel and Load
Six exercise cycles for home, compared on the specs that decide how they ride and how long they last: magnetic vs friction resistance, flywheel weight, user limit, seat adjustment and warranty.

19 min read
Best Smart Scale in India: 4 vs 8 Electrodes, 5 Body Fat Scales Compared
Five smart and body fat scales compared on what they actually measure: electrodes and current path, where the readings show, max weight, app, users and warranty, plus what a BIA reading can and cannot tell you.

18 min read
Best Pull-Up Bar for Home in India: Doorway vs Wall-Mounted, 6 Compared
Six pull-up bars for home, compared on what actually holds you up: mount type, frame width range, stated load, grip positions, drilling and warranty, plus why the kg on the box is not the number that matters.