Best Exercise Cycle for Home in India: 6 Compared on Resistance, Flywheel and Load
Six exercise cycles for home, compared on the specs that decide how they ride and how long they last: magnetic vs friction resistance, flywheel weight, user limit, seat adjustment and warranty.

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you — this never affects our recommendations. We only suggest products we believe in. Read our full affiliate disclosure.
Quick Answer
For most homes and beginners, buy the Propel HU 57i. It is an upright exercise cycle, so you sit up rather than leaning forward over the bars as on a spin bike. Its listing states the three things that matter most: magnetic resistance with 8 levels, a 120 kg user limit and a 1-year manufacturer warranty. If you want a spin bike for harder interval work, the BIONFIT Magnetic Spin Bike keeps the quiet magnetic system with a 7 kg flywheel.
Propel HU 57i Upright Magnetic Exercise Cycle — 8 Levels, 5 kg Flywheel, 120 kg
An upright exercise cycle with 8-level magnetic resistance, a 5 kg two-way flywheel, a 120 kg user limit, an LCD display with handlebar pulse sensors and a height-adjustable cushioned seat, per the listing. 1-year manufacturer warranty against manufacturing defects.
Check Price on AmazonEvery bike below is a full-size exercise cycle (no mini pedal exercisers) and was in stock under ₹15,000 when this guide was written. Prices move with sales, so check the live price on each card.
An exercise cycle is the quietest way to get cardio at home on the days you cannot get out: an AQI above 300, a week of monsoon rain, or an evening when the road is not safe. It needs no motor and no stabiliser, and there is no landing impact as there is in running. The listings, though, rarely explain the one choice that decides how the bike feels and how long it lasts: how the resistance is made.
This guide compares six exercise cycles across the four types you will see on Amazon India, and says plainly where a listing does not state something.
How this guide was put together: I have not owned these six bikes, so you will not find "I tested each of these for months" claims here. What follows is a specification comparison built from each product's Amazon India listing. Where a listing does not state a spec, or contradicts itself, the table says so rather than guessing. How we source claims and where AI is used is set out in our editorial policy.
Exercise Cycle, Treadmill or Walking Pad?
All three give you cardio indoors. They suit different people:
- Exercise cycle: seated and low-impact, with no motor. Good if running is not your goal, if you live above someone, or if you want to watch something while you train.
- Treadmill: the only one of the three you can actually run on, but it needs a motor, a stabiliser and permanent floor space. Our guide to the best treadmills under ₹15,000 compares six.
- Walking pad: built for walking under a desk, then sliding under a bed. Our walking pad guide covers that.
Spin, Upright, Air Bike or Recumbent: Which Type?
← Swipe to compare →
| Type | How you sit | Resistance | Suits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Upright | Upright, like a city bicycle | Usually magnetic | Beginners, steady cardio, anyone who finds leaning forward uncomfortable |
| Spin bike | Leaning forward, can stand on the pedals | Felt pad or magnetic | Interval training and harder sessions |
| Air bike | Upright, often with a backrest | Fan, plus moving handles | Working arms and legs together |
| Recumbent | Reclined, with full back support | Usually magnetic | Anyone who needs back support; these sit above this guide's ₹15,000 scope |
If you searched for an exercise cycle "with back support", the option within this guide's scope is an air bike with a backrest, like the Fitkit below. A full recumbent costs more.
Magnetic vs Friction vs Air Resistance
This is the single most useful thing to check on a listing.
- Friction (felt pad): a felt or wool pad presses on the flywheel, and the knob changes how hard. It is the cheapest system and works well, but because the pad touches the flywheel it wears with use and is a replaceable part. The Sparnod SSB-08 below uses this.
- Magnetic: magnets move closer to the flywheel without touching it. Nothing rubs, so it is quieter and has no pad to wear out. Listings usually give it numbered levels (8 or 10 here).
- Air (fan): a fan creates the resistance, and it rises the harder you pedal. There is no knob to turn; you go harder by pedalling faster. Fans make noise at speed.
If someone else sleeps in the next room, or you live in a flat with neighbours below, magnetic is the safer choice. If the budget is tight and noise matters less, a felt-pad spin bike does the job.
What Actually Matters
1. Resistance type and levels
Check whether the listing states the resistance type at all. Two of the six here do not state it clearly: the Sparnod SSB-11N describes only a "micro-tension knob", and the Fitkit air bike's listing contradicts itself. More levels are not automatically better; what matters is a smooth step between them.
2. Flywheel weight
A heavier flywheel keeps the pedal stroke smoother and less jerky, especially at low cadence. The flywheels stated here run from 5 kg (Propel HU 57i) to 11 kg (Sparnod SSB-11N). Flywheel weight only compares like with like: an upright's flywheel is not built for the same job as a spin bike's, and air bikes are driven by a fan rather than a heavy flywheel.
3. User weight, and the buffer
The listed limit is a ceiling, not a target. Two listings here state their own buffer: the Fitkit air bike advises choosing a bike rated at least 20 kg above your body weight, and BIONFIT recommends 25–30 kg for cycling. Five of the six are rated 120 kg; the Sparnod SSB-11N is rated 125 kg.
4. Seat and handlebar adjustment
A seat that only moves up and down suits most riders. A 4-way seat (up/down and forward/back) lets you set the distance to the handlebars too, which matters if two people of different heights will share the bike. Both Sparnod listings state a 4-way seat; the SSB-11N also adjusts its handlebars in two directions. Few listings state a rider height range: the Fitkit air bike is the only one here that gives a minimum, 5 ft.
5. Display and pulse sensors
All six have a basic display for time, speed, distance and calories. Treat the calorie figure as an estimate. Handlebar pulse sensors, where listed, need a steady grip to read and are a rough guide, not a medical reading.
6. Floor space and folding
Only the Cult X-Bike is listed as foldable, with wheels. The assembled sizes the listings give, depth × width × height, are 86 × 44.5 × 140 cm (Propel HU 57i), 100 × 50 × 118 cm (Sparnod SSB-11N), 117 × 52 × 115 cm (Cult X-Bike) and 99 × 53 × 120 cm (Fitkit). Measure the space, and leave room to get on and off.
7. Warranty, installation and service
Four of the six state a 1-year warranty on the listing; the BIONFIT and Cult X-Bike listings do not state a term. Amazon showed an assembly option on all six listings when this guide was written. BIONFIT also describes self-installation or paid expert installation at your door.
Which Exercise Cycle Suits You
← Swipe to compare →
| If this is you | The one to look at | What you have to accept |
|---|---|---|
| You are a beginner and want quiet, steady cardio | Propel HU 57i | A 5 kg flywheel, the lightest stated here |
| You want a quiet spin bike for intervals | BIONFIT Magnetic Spin Bike | No warranty term is stated on the listing |
| You are heavier or want the heaviest flywheel | Sparnod SSB-11N | The listing does not state the resistance type |
| You want the most room in the budget | Sparnod SSB-08 | A felt pad that wears with use |
| You need it to fold away, or want a desk | Cult X-Bike | Flywheel weight and warranty are not stated |
| You want to work your arms as well | Fitkit 2-in-1 Air Bike | Its resistance type is described two different ways |
The Six Compared
← Swipe to compare →
| Model | Type | Resistance | Levels | Flywheel | Max user | Adjustment | Folds | Warranty (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Propel HU 57i | Upright | Magnetic | 8 | 5 kg, two-way | 120 kg | Seat height; handle adjustable | Not stated | 1 yr manufacturer |
| BIONFIT Magnetic Spin | Spin | Magnetic | 10 | 7 kg | 120 kg | Seat and handle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sparnod SSB-11N | Spin | Not stated (tension knob) | 7* | 11 kg | 125 kg | 4-way seat, 2-way handlebar | Not stated | 1 yr |
| Sparnod SSB-08 | Spin | Friction (wool felt) | 7** | 8 kg | 120 kg | 4-way seat, handlebar height | Not stated | 1 yr |
| Cult X-Bike | Folding | Magnetic | 8 | Not stated | 120 kg | Seat and handle | Yes | Not stated |
| Fitkit 2-in-1 Air Bike | Air bike | Not stated*** | Not stated | Not stated | 120 kg | Seat height, backrest | Not stated | 1 yr |
*The SSB-11N's bullets describe a "micro-tension knob" without stating whether the system is felt or magnetic; 7 levels comes from its specification table. **The SSB-08's specification table says 7 levels; its bullets describe the knob in percentage bands instead. ***The Fitkit listing names it an air bike and gives "Air" as the resistance mechanism, but its title and bullets describe a "Direct Resistance System". This guide does not guess which is correct.
Specifications are from each product's Amazon India listing. No prices here: they move with every sale, so check the live price on each card.
The Reviews
1. Propel HU 57i — Best for Most Homes and Beginners
The HU 57i leads because its listing answers the three questions that matter most. It uses magnetic resistance with 8 levels, it is rated for 120 kg, and it carries a 1-year manufacturer warranty. As an upright, it sits you up rather than forward over the bars, which many beginners find more comfortable than a spin bike's forward lean. The two-way flywheel is 5 kg, and the LCD tracks time, speed, distance, calories and odometer, with handlebar pulse sensors.
What to weigh: the 5 kg flywheel is the lightest stated here. It suits steady cardio more than hard sprint intervals. The seat adjusts for height; the listing does not say whether it also moves forward and back.
Buy this if: you are starting out, you want quiet steady cardio, and you prefer an upright position.
Propel HU 57i Upright Magnetic Exercise Cycle — 8 Levels, 5 kg Flywheel, 120 kg
8-level magnetic resistance, a 5 kg two-way flywheel, a 120 kg user limit, an LCD display with handlebar pulse sensors and a height-adjustable cushioned seat, per the listing. 1-year manufacturer warranty against manufacturing defects.
Check Price on Amazon2. BIONFIT Magnetic Spin Bike — Best Magnetic Spin Bike
This is the pick if you want a spin bike's riding position without a felt pad rubbing the flywheel. It has magnetic resistance, a 7 kg flywheel, a belt drive and a 120 kg user limit, with an adjustable seat and handle and an LED display with pulse sensors. Its specification table lists 10 resistance levels.
It is also one of the two listings here that states a user-weight buffer: BIONFIT recommends 25–30 kg for cycling, which puts its 120 kg bike at riders up to about 90 kg. It describes self-installation or paid expert installation.
What to weigh: the listing does not state a warranty term. Ask the seller before ordering if that matters to you.
Buy this if: you want to do intervals at home quietly and you are under about 90 kg.
BIONFIT Magnetic Spin Bike — 7 kg Flywheel, Belt Drive, 120 kg
Magnetic resistance with 10 levels in the specification table, a 7 kg flywheel, a belt drive, a 120 kg user limit, an adjustable seat and handle, and an LED display with handlebar pulse sensors, per the listing. BIONFIT recommends a 25–30 kg weight buffer for cycling. No warranty term is stated on the listing.
Check Price on Amazon3. Sparnod SSB-11N — Heaviest Flywheel
The SSB-11N has the heaviest flywheel here at 11 kg and the highest user limit at 125 kg. Its 4-way seat moves up, down, forward and back, its handlebars adjust two ways, and it has caged toe-clip pedals, levelling feet and an emergency brake (press the knob). The listing gives an assembled size of 100 × 50 × 118 cm and a 1-year warranty.
What to weigh: the listing describes a "micro-tension knob" but does not say whether the resistance is a felt pad or magnetic. Check before you order if noise matters.
Buy this if: you are heavier, you want the smoothest pedal stroke a heavy flywheel gives, or two people of different heights will share it.
Sparnod Fitness SSB-11N Spin Bike — 11 kg Flywheel, 125 kg, 4-Way Seat
An 11 kg chrome flywheel, a belt drive, a 125 kg user limit, a 4-way adjustable seat and 2-way handlebars, caged pedals and an emergency brake, per the listing. 1-year warranty. The listing does not state whether the resistance is felt or magnetic.
Check Price on Amazon4. Sparnod SSB-08 — Best Budget Spin Bike
The SSB-08 is the one to pick if you want the most room in the budget and are happy with a felt-pad system. It has an 8 kg flywheel, wool felt resistance, a belt drive and a 120 kg user limit. The seat adjusts up, down, forward and back; the handlebars adjust for height only. The display covers speed, time, distance and calories, with heart-rate readings, and the listing states a 1-year warranty.
What to weigh: the felt pad touches the flywheel, so it wears with use and makes more noise than a magnetic system.
Buy this if: you want a spin bike at the lower end of the range and noise is not a problem in your home.
Sparnod Fitness SSB-08 Spin Bike — 8 kg Flywheel, Felt Resistance, 120 kg
An 8 kg chrome flywheel with wool felt resistance, a belt drive, a 120 kg user limit, a 4-way adjustable seat and height-adjustable handlebars, plus a display with heart-rate readings, per the listing. 1-year warranty.
Check Price on Amazon5. Cult X-Bike — Best Foldable
The X-Bike is the only bike here listed as foldable, with transport wheels to move it. It also has a built-in desk and tablet holder, so you can pedal while you work. It has 8-level magnetic resistance, a 120 kg user limit, an adjustable seat and handle and an LCD display. The listing gives its size as 117 × 52 × 115 cm.
What to weigh: the listing states neither the flywheel weight nor a warranty term.
Buy this if: the bike has to fold away after every session, or you want to pedal at a desk.
Cult X-Bike with Desk — Foldable, 8-Level Magnetic, 120 kg
A foldable exercise bike with 8-level magnetic resistance, a 120 kg user limit, an adjustable seat and handle, an LCD display, a built-in desk, a tablet holder and transport wheels, per the listing. Flywheel weight and warranty term are not stated.
Check Price on Amazon6. Fitkit 2-in-1 Air Bike — Best for Arms and Legs
The Fitkit is the pick if you want your arms involved too. Its handles can move with the pedals or stay fixed, and it has a height-adjustable cushioned seat with a backrest, which makes it the closest thing to a "back support" exercise cycle in this guide. It is rated for 120 kg, with a minimum rider height of 5 ft, and carries a 1-year warranty. The listing itself advises a bike rated at least 20 kg above your body weight.
What to weigh: the listing calls it an air bike, but its title and bullets describe a "Direct Resistance System", and it does not state resistance levels.
Buy this if: you want full-body cardio and a backrest.
Fitkit Dual Action 2-in-1 Air Bike — Moving and Fixed Handles, Backrest, 120 kg
Moving and fixed handles for arms and legs together, a height-adjustable cushioned seat with a backrest, an LCD display and a 120 kg user limit, per the listing. 1-year warranty. The listing describes its resistance both as air and as a 'Direct Resistance System'.
Check Price on AmazonHow Many Calories Does an Exercise Cycle Burn?
It depends on how hard you pedal. The Compendium of Physical Activities gives MET values for stationary cycling by power output; for a 70 kg adult, a 30-minute session works out roughly as follows:
← Swipe to compare →
| Effort (Compendium 2024) | MET | ~kcal in 30 min (70 kg) |
|---|---|---|
| Light to moderate, about 60 watts | 5.0 | ~175 |
| Moderate to vigorous, 90–100 watts | 6.0 | ~210 |
| Stationary cycling, general | 6.8 | ~240 |
| Spin class pace | 9.0 | ~315 |
Heavier riders burn more, lighter riders less. The console's calorie number is an estimate based on the same kind of formula.
An exercise cycle helps fat loss the same way walking does: as part of a calorie deficit, not instead of one. No exercise burns fat from one body part, so it will not target belly fat on its own. Our calorie deficit guide covers how the food side fits in.
Before You Buy: Setup, Floor and Space
- Seat height: set it so your knee is slightly bent at the bottom of the pedal stroke, not locked straight.
- Floor: put a dense equipment mat under the bike. It protects tile, stops the bike creeping, and reduces noise in an upper-floor flat.
- Space: measure the listed footprint and add room to step on and off.
- Maintenance: check the bolts after the first few rides. On a felt-pad bike, expect to replace the pad eventually; on a magnetic bike there is no pad to wear.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is an exercise cycle good for weight loss?
It helps as part of a calorie deficit. At a moderate effort, 30 minutes burns roughly 175–210 calories for a 70 kg adult, per the Compendium of Physical Activities. That is useful daily, but what you eat still decides most of the result.
Can an exercise cycle reduce belly fat?
Not on its own, and not selectively. No exercise burns fat from one area. Cycling adds to your daily calorie burn, and a consistent calorie deficit is what reduces fat everywhere, including the belly.
Spin bike or exercise bike: which is better for home?
A spin bike suits interval training and standing efforts; an upright exercise bike suits steady cardio and beginners. If you are new to cycling or prefer sitting upright, start with an upright like the Propel HU 57i. If you want harder sessions, a spin bike like the BIONFIT or Sparnod SSB-11N.
Magnetic or belt/friction resistance: which should I buy?
Magnetic if noise matters or you want less maintenance, because nothing touches the flywheel. Friction (a felt pad) if budget matters more, accepting that the pad wears and is noisier. Note that "belt" in most listings means the belt drive, which is quieter than a chain; it is not the same thing as the resistance system.
What flywheel weight do I need?
Compare like with like. Among the spin bikes here, flywheels run from 7 kg to 11 kg, and a heavier one gives a smoother stroke. The Propel upright's 5 kg flywheel is fine for steady cardio. Air bikes are driven by a fan, so flywheel weight does not apply in the same way.
Is an exercise cycle good for your knees?
Cycling has no landing impact, which is why many people choose it over running. Set the seat height correctly so your knee does not lock straight or bend too far. If you have a knee injury or ongoing pain, check with a physiotherapist before you start.
Exercise cycle or treadmill for weight loss?
Either works if you use it consistently in a calorie deficit. A treadmill lets you run; an exercise cycle is quieter, needs no motor or stabiliser, and has no impact. Our treadmill guide covers the running option.
How long should I cycle a day, and how long to burn 500 calories?
Start with 20–30 minutes at an easy-to-moderate effort. For a 70 kg adult, burning 500 calories takes about 70 minutes at 90–100 watts (6.0 MET) or about 85 minutes at 60 watts (5.0 MET), so most people get there over a week, not one session.
How much user-weight capacity do I need?
At least 20 kg above your body weight, which is the buffer the Fitkit listing advises; BIONFIT recommends 25–30 kg for cycling. Five of the six bikes here are rated 120 kg and the Sparnod SSB-11N 125 kg.
Which exercise cycle has back support?
A recumbent has full back support, but recumbents sit above this guide's ₹15,000 scope. Under that, look for an air bike with a backrest, like the Fitkit 2-in-1. An upright like the Propel HU 57i has no backrest, but it does keep you sitting upright.
Final Word
Pick the type first, then the resistance system. For most homes the Propel HU 57i is the safest start: upright, magnetic, 8 levels, a stated 120 kg limit and a 1-year warranty. Choose the BIONFIT for quiet spin-bike intervals, the Sparnod SSB-11N for the heaviest flywheel and highest limit, the Sparnod SSB-08 for the most room in the budget, the Cult X-Bike if it has to fold away, and the Fitkit if you want your arms working too.
If you would rather walk or run, the walking pad guide and treadmill guide cover those. For strength work alongside your cardio, our home gym guide covers what to add first, and our pull-up bar guide covers the one piece of kit that trains your back without weights.
📖 Read Also:
Calorie Deficit Explained: How Weight Loss Actually WorksWhy an exercise cycle helps fat loss only as part of a calorie deficit, and how to fit cardio in without wrecking your recovery.
Free Tools to Help You
Put this article into action — use our free calculators to get your personalized numbers.
Was this article helpful?
Want More Tips Like This?
Join 1,000+ readers getting weekly fitness, diet, and wellness tips + FREE meal plan
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

About the Author: Ashwani
Fitness enthusiast and wellness writer. I research and write about home workout equipment and supplements — so you can make informed decisions without wasting money.
Read more about us →Comments
Leave a Comment
Your email will not be published. Comments are reviewed before appearing.
You Might Also Like
Continue your wellness journey

18 min read
Best Treadmill Under ₹15,000 in India: 6 Compared on Motor, Speed and Load
Six motorised treadmills under ₹15,000, compared on the specs that decide whether a home treadmill lasts: continuous vs peak motor power, top speed, user weight, running area and warranty.

18 min read
Best Pull-Up Bar for Home in India: Doorway vs Wall-Mounted, 6 Compared
Six pull-up bars for home, compared on what actually holds you up: mount type, frame width range, stated load, grip positions, drilling and warranty, plus why the kg on the box is not the number that matters.

17 min read
Amazon Great Indian Festival 2026: Home Gym Deals Worth Buying (and What to Skip)
The Great Indian Festival started on 8 October 2026. The percentage off on a fitness listing is measured against MRP, which is a legal ceiling rather than a real price, so that number tells you very little. What tells you whether a deal is real is the price history and the bank offer. Here is the short list of home gym equipment worth buying in the sale, and how to check each deal before you pay.